It gave me THOSE CHILLS^^ Review: The One By Kiera Cass

Posted August 7, 2015 by Keionda Lei Lewis in Romance ♥ / 22 Comments

It gave me THOSE CHILLS^^ Review: The One By Kiera CassThe One
by Kiera Cass
Also by this author: The Selection, The Elite
Published by HarperCollins
on May 5th 2015
Genres: Girls & Women, Love & Romance, Royalty, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Goodreads
The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!

                                             Hola, my sweet little bumblebees! 

I feel really bad  to say this, but this book kind of….well, it fell flat for me. I’m not saying it wasn’t a fun time but that it just….well I put it down a couple of times and then didn’t read it for days in between at a time. And pfft, I can read your minds: but I thought this book gave you THE CHILLS, ^^hence the title of this post. And IT DID. Besides all that, it still DID.

I still loved the cool parties, the dresses, and the AWESOME character development of ALL CHARACTERS.

Divider

5I’m still surprised to say there was only tiny multi-colored sprinkles of girl drama in this book. (Shocker) because DUH, all those females under the same palace?? Pfft. I would have laughed had you told me there wasn’t any drama in this book.

Surprisingly enough, the drama came from the king of all people. He was the main source of the problem. So in between fighting for Maxon’s love, America has to come back stronger and lift her chin up high to the king. –> Which…. kind of would have freaked me out if I was her.

Chills rushed through me when all the girls of the Elite came together and held hands as one. Together they were stronger and there was nothing the king could do about it. IN YO FACE YOUR HIGNESS.

It was still a little hard to connect to the characters but I believe it’s the writer in me that’s judging them too harshly? Idk you guys, but I have a lot of expectations or maybe I’m just picky. —>yeah, definitely that.

4

America: I loved how arrogant/cocky she became! She didn’t care what anyone thought nor did she care about the king’s approval. She stood toe to toe with him SO MANY TIMES so I was kinda freaked out  for her. She had some awesome character development and I was so glad to see her grow into herself. She could have been more confident sometimes but gosh…to go up against the KING!? The one man that can cut your head of and ask questions later?? (I don’t think he can really cut your head off… but still, yo.) America really grew some woman balls in this one. –>Someone give this girl a freaking CAKE.  She can have ALL CAKE. I NO COMPLAIN.

 †Maxon: I loved how devoted he still was to America, given her many faults, given how “plain” she was compared to the other girls. To him, looks didn’t matter; it was all about who she was in the inside that made him fall for her. (A very redeeming quality I find to be rather irresistible in a guy ;))He’s also super patient with her through all the annoying times she kept bobbing back and forth with her feelings for him. 

 †Aspen: I would have really liked to have seen more of him but I knew the direction the story was heading from the moment I started reading it. I won’t give away anymore details. 😉

Celeste: The change in her. WHAT THE WHAT?? She gave a 100 percent turn around… Like, I wanted to give this girl a pat on the back and a virtual handshake/hoorah. Huge change in this chick.  Who would gave thought? Huh.


hfhgfjghbvjkghv

 I won’t name all of the girls (You have been spared.)  but just KNOW that they all made a huge turn around and all had each other’s back and the character development in ALL characters was AMAZEBALLS!

 †The King: BAD MAN. YOU’RE A BAD, BAD MAN! He gives America an unnecessary, crazy amount of extra drama she didn’t need in her life and HE was the main cause of all her stress and worry.

 †The Queen: I loved her but at the same time I do believe she could have exerted her power a little bit more. I don’t know, stand up to her husband? Something. I mean yeah, he’s the king and all but….don’t just sit by and do NOTHING. 

1

Untitled6I loved the character development in all the characters. –> As I have said one million times. Between The Elite, whereas in the beginning they didn’t know each other and became almost enemies, in this one it’s a full on girl hoorah.

Untitled6I enjoyed finding the messages in these books. I think the one from this one could have been a long the lines of: “Be yourself and push onward even when that seems like the last possible thing you should do.” -Keionda

 2

888I didn’t like the fact that Maxon was with everyone–especially Kriss I know it was a part of the Selection but….but still. Keionda did not approve.

3

Overall, this was an awesome read, despite some slowness in the beginning. Mrs. Cross, I applaud you because you know how to not only write a book but also what it takes to deliver a good one into your readers hands. Sooooo, tank you. Tank you very much.

If you’re looking for some awesome character development, some angst sprinkled with some tender moments, this IS the book for you. 😉

Untitledkhjglj

Divider

                                 Over to you:

How much drama in a book can you stand? Are you going to consider reading this series? You should. Or, have you in fact already read it, in which case, let’s fan girl together in the comments!

UntitledASDFASDF

Divider

22 responses to “It gave me THOSE CHILLS^^ Review: The One By Kiera Cass

  1. Red Iza

    I’m not a huge fan of drama, which is why I haven’t read this book. Yet. But I’m not a stubborn mule (most of the time) and I’m willing to give it a try if I find it at my library 🙂

  2. I am so glad that you liked this so well. I still haven’t written my review for The Selection, which I recently read. I liked it pretty well, although it was lighter in nature than what I was hoping for. I am not a fan of Aspen, but that may change later.
    Great review, as always. 🙂

  3. I loved how much she grew in this as well because to be honest, I was ready to give up on her after book two so it was nice to see her stand up for herself and stop being so wish washy about who to choose.
    Great review!

  4. I don’t think this one is for me though I’m glad that you’re having a good time with it. As to drama, I usually avoid it. But on occasion when the mood strikes, I will read a book that gives me the feels.

  5. 4 steaming lattes is better than one steaming latte. 🙂 You seemed to have enjoyed it generally. This series is way too reality tv for my taste.

    Have a nice weekend, luv!

  6. Ro

    I liked the movies in the Divergent series, but haven’t actually read the books. However, this sounds like a relay good good story filled with plenty of action, so I may have to give it a look see. Happy Saturday! Hugs…Ro

  7. Okay, okay! I give! I will try to get the first book soon and see if it’s something that I will love. You’ve sold me on this series when I was dead set against it.

  8. I haven’t read this series yet, but I might have to start it 🙂 I like the idea that all the girls get on and there’s not (too much) drama. Great review!

  9. I LOVE the idea that all girls got together for a cause in this book (girl power, yo) but again, like I’ve said before–I don’t intend on starting this series. I’ve seen wayyyy too many bad reviews for this one and I’m kind of just…turned off? You know when you really want to read a book and then someone says bad stuff about it and then you never want to think about it again? Yeah. That’s kind of my situation here :/

    I love drama (shhh, don’t tell anyone.) I love drama but HATE melodrama. If a book is melodramatic, I probably will DNF it first chance I get.

    PS – Is it just me or is the cover girl’s dress too…chickeny?

    Rhea @ Rhea’s Neon Journal

  10. I haven’t been able to finish this series yet – the first one was so-so for me, but from your review it does seem like there are some really great things happening! I’m especially happy that America got a little more fiercer! And Maxon was my favorite just from the first book, so I should finish the series to check in with him and make sure he’s doing okay. LOL

  11. I heard some of the characters are pretty frustrating in this one, so glad to hear they get developed by the 3rd book. It’s a bit frustrating that Maxon is with everyone -even though it’s part of the Selection. I mean how is a lady supposed to be secure in that? Lovely review Keionda!

  12. I loved this book best of all the books. It was so cute and romantic, but I too was a bit disappointed in this one. I felt like we got nowhere in this series with solving the social problems of Illéa. Also America still annoyed me in this book, and Maxon’s reaction to everything was a bit much. The end was a bit too convenient and easy, but I liked the book.

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    • See, everyone is saying they were annoyed by America but I really liked her (just wished she would have had more gunctions to make her choice sooner.) That was dragged on a bit too much and yes, the ending WAS really convenient. =/

  13. From what I have heard other people say so far I have the feeling that the first book is the one I am going to like best. Although it still sounds like a series I want to finish as well. The King doesn’t play such a big part in the first book, which is the only one I read so far, so I am really curious how that changes and what he’s going to do and cause drama. Oh and all the character changes sound good. Celeste was that annoying character in the first book who was mean to america, right? I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

  14. I haven’t started this series at all, because well . . . I always thought I wouldn’t like it. Then I kept seeing everyone rave about it, and say how much it was a guilty pleasure of theirs, and I finally became interested. I believe I picked up the kindle version of The Selection back in March or April, so all I have to do now is sit the hell down and read it lol.

    • Take it from me Tika. YOU WANT TO read this! I really think you would like it! I’m not really big on hyped up books which is the reason I waited so long to read this book. I literally swiped by it on my Kindle so many times, it’s crazy! But YES. I hope you decide to read it one day. (This is me pushing you.) 😉

  15. I love that you love this, Keionda! One of my fav series. It’s just so fun and light and swoony! Yes, I didn’t like Maxon being with other girls but it’s part of the game <3 I love your blog so much! So pretty <3

I LURVE Comments! Let Me Know What YOU Have To Say!